I'm going to win. Of course.
February 21, 2005 6:28 am

I'm here, but only for a minute. We've moved all of the furniture in, hooray! We've still got the cats' window seat, some dishes that we forgot were in the dishwasher (oops), and various other odds and ends to come over, but we are by far moved in.

We are NOT, however, done painting. We were both still so exhausted from being sick that we limited our painting to priming the whole apartment except for a small stretch of hallway, and painting color in the dining room, bedroom, and office. The main color (green) still has to go up in the livingroom, hallway, and kitchen.

We've decided to buy a washmachine and dryer. Or rather, I convinced Jay to buy a washmachine and dryer. I sat down and beat the math into his head ($20 a week to wash & dry = $80 a month; using a washmachine & dryer in our apt costs around $20 in power (no water; it's included in rent), so $80 - $20 = savings of $60 a month by using our own; $60 a month X 12 months = $720, $720 = washer & dryer paying for themselves). Yes it means we have to put it on a credit card, but I have an "extra" paycheck in July that should cover it.

Anyway. I'm not taking pictures yet because we're not done, but I will probably at the end of this week, so look for them Monday.

Oh, and does anyone have any hints for getting the stench of old cat pee out of unsealed wood? The tenants before us apparently left their catbox on the deck (NOT ALLOWED, buttheads) and the cat peed all over the damn place. When it's damp outside (read: dewy, foggy, or rainy) I can't open my doors or windows because the smell is enough to make me retch. I've bleached the deck twice and my next step is to pour white vinegar on the places I know the smell is coming from, but I don't know if that will be enough. It's really starting to get on my nerves. Also, will sealing the deck help to contain the stink, or make it worse?

Blah. I'm tired and I want to go home and curl up in bed and watch Lion King all day. But I think hubby wants to go home and do something weird, like unpack.

We'll see who wins, eh?

dust dreams