Schedules and Settling
October 02, 2004 8:45 pm

I should really go do FitDay, but J and I are on such a weird schedule. He just went to bed at 7pm-- after being awake ALL DAY and ALL NIGHT. Schedules are always a little crazy here because of his working nights, and of course he didn't get much sleep Thursday because he was driving me around to appointments and such. So he slept almost all of Friday, dead to the world. It was uncanny.

Of course, when he woke up at 10pm he had a caffeine headache, so I made a pot of strong coffee... and damned if he didn't drink almost the whole pot by himself! That's usually MY job! :) I lasted until 5am, playing online and reading a book, but when I finally fell into bed he was still going strong. As I said, he only laid down about an hour and 45 min ago.

So dinner is in the fridge: egg salad and tuna salad for sandwiches. Not exactly healthy, but it's our standby for days like this. I also made an awesome veggie salad that I'm quite proud of, since it used up a lot of the vegetables I bought last week at the farmer's market but haven't used yet. I took a can of artichoke hearts, drained and rinsed them, and then chopped them up and tossed them in a bowl. I added chopped sweet peppers, vidalia onion, yellow tomato, and cucumber, then mixed it with crushed garlic in olive oil and lemon juice. Add some salt and a little pepper, and it tastes amazing. And healthy as a horse, too-- even the olive oil, fatty as it is, is good for you.

I'm slowly getting back into the proper headspace for this journey I'm on. It was fine to stop and not follow "the plan" while Jay and I were planning our marriage and getting me settled in Atlanta, but I'm HERE now. I'm unemployed, but I'm settled. Time to stop messing around and produce some results, yes?

dust dreams