Not so impossible
September 15, 2003 11:24 am

I can't believe it's the fifteenth already. When did the months just start flying past?

I hopped on the evil-bad bathroom scale this morning, the one that lies a lot, and it said 248. Which made me happy, because 248 on the evil-bad scale is like 245 on the true-weight scale at the gym. So I know I'm making progress.

And then I started thinking about when I first began this weightloss crusade of mine, and how far away the 240's seemed. I couldn't fathom the idea of losing 30 pounds and being in the 240s. It seemed impossible.

It seemed so impossible at one point that I even revised my fitness goals. Screw being 120, I said, I just want to see 200 again.

But a few days later, I realized that unless I went all the way, I might as well be doing nothing. Unless I held my goal and kept to it, unless I forced myself into persevering, 200 would become 220 and 220 would become 230, all the way until I'd just give up.

I am not a person who gives up.

So here I am, in the "impossible" 240s... and it feels great! My next goal is to be in the 190s ("Onederland") by my 23rd birthday, in January. Originally I had said Christmas, but I think that's cutting it kind of fine... so, Onederland by Christmas. I'll make it. Now that I've taken the first steps, it doesn't seem so impossible anymore.

dust dreams