NO MORE DIETS!
August 03, 2003 8:09 pm

Something I forgot to mention is that I have ditched the "low carb, high protein" diet. 1) It makes me crabby as hell, 2) I just don't see the logic in it.

According to this diet, I can have as much meat, cheese, etc as I want, which are high in fat, but I can't eat things like rice and bread because they're high in carbs, even though they are low in fat. So I am "saving" 4 calories per gram by not eating carbs and replacing them with 9 calories per gram from fat. That seems like a gain of 5 calories to me.

Maybe this works for some people. Maybe this is the miracle diet. But not for me. I tried it for a week and I was miserable. Therefore I am ditching it and going back to eating a normal, balanced diet.

I was losing weight before I started exercising. I am going to increase my protein because of my strength training, and I'll cut out some of the "heavier" carbs like refined sugar and white flour. I have been glad to say sionara to potatoes. But I am not going to cut out bread, crackers, oatmeal, cereal, rice, and carbs of that ilk. Eaten in moderation, they are healthy.

dust dreams