Steps! I have steps! I have a PLAN! Woo!
November 04, 2004 6:30 am

J has actually been using my Curves search to determine where we look for new apartments. Isn't my husband fabulous? He's also letting me do something I've wanted to do for awhile: STOP COOKING. And I don't mean stop entirely (this morning, for example, we had two eggs with bacon and toast, but it's also the first time I've made breakfast in a couple weeks), but to stop making complicated meals so often. It's frustrating for me to have to think of something new to cook every day, and it's straining our budget. So finally yesterday I unburdened myself about the whole matter (I really should just do that more often instead of stewing over things), and J was, as always, supportive and loving and completely game for anything I want to try.

So here's my plan: one "complicated" meal a week, on the day when the missionaries come over for dinner. (I feed missionaries. No, I didn't vote for Bush. :P These are LDS missionaries, boys, which means they're 19-20 years old, they live on $140 a month for the both of them, and since the ward is largely converts we are the only family who feeds them.) I let the boys pick what they want for dinner... last week it was tacos, this week it's meat loaf and mashed potatoes and green bean casserole. We'll probably have leftovers the next day or so, and then the rest of the week is going to either be "simple" meals (such as chicken wings and cottage cheese with fruit), sandwiches, or salad.

I feel fat. That's surprising to me, because even though I am fat, I don't normally feel fat. Sounds strange, doesn't it? I always feel skinny and when I look in the mirror, I see a skinny person. It's the optimist in me. :) But lately I've been feeling fat. I've been feeling unhealthy, and I don't think it's just related to the fact that midtown Atlanta has very little fresh air. I've stopped taking my calcium, drinking water, remembering my vitamin, and exercising. I've gone into a slump and I feel it physically.

I should have a job very soon, fates willing. There's a position open in the library on J's shift, although in a different department. My application was accepted and I will be interviewing sometime in the next week or so; as long as I don't screw it up or as long as there isn't someone else more qualified, I should get the position. It's 40 hrs a week, mostly desk work, I can bring my laptop with me, I get to work near my husband, we'll be on the same schedule, and best of all it's a job I've done before and really loved. Once that paycheck starts rolling in, things will be better around here... and I'll also be able to join Weight Watchers in addition to Curves. That will help me immensely.

So right now "step one" is to change eating habits, including drinking more water and taking my vitamins. Then "step two" is finding myself a new Curves, and "step three" will be to join WW. I've got myself a plan, and damned if I'm going to drop off it again.

Dinner last night: pine nut cous cous and light salad (lettuce, tomato, onion, olives, with oil and sumac).
Snackage: Pumpkin cookie, coffee
Breakfast: Two eggs, over easy; one slice of bacon; one slice of toast with raspberry jam, coffee.

Oh, who wants my pumpkin cookie recipe? It's low fat!

1 (15 oz) can pumpkin (Libby's, etc)
1 (14.5 oz) box gingerbread mix (Betty Crocker, etc)
2 tablespoons flour
2-3 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a cookie sheet. Mix all ingredients in a medium bowl. There's no oil or butter in this recipe, so these cookies DO NOT spread-- form them on the sheet the exact way you want them to look when they come out of the oven! Bake for 10 minutes.

These cookies are moist, spicy, and sweet enough to not need any frosting. If you like "filler" in your cookies, I would suggest 1 cup each of raisins and crushed walnuts, or even dried cranberries. Yum!

Okay, that's all. I'm really just procrastinating; I'm supposed to be writing. Hah! Little does J know that I *am* writing... just not what he thinks I am. ;)

dust dreams