Food woes- save my marriage!
September 10, 2004 1:08 am

One of the hardest parts of being married and living in a city eight hours from either of our mothers is that I have no one to turn to for help and advice as regards grocery planning, shopping, cooking, etc. I have to rely on myself to shop for bargains, to find out where to get the best produce, etc, and to figure out what to do with the food once we've bought it! I can usually come up with one great meal idea a week, but after that I'm stumped.

It's not that I don't know how to cook-- I am much better at it than a lot of other 23 year old women, I think. I'm certainly better at it than my sister was when she was my age; she fed her husband on macaroni and cheese and canned vegetables for years. It's just that I feel like all my meals have the same base, the same feel, and that we'll get bored eating my cooking week after week.

Okay, and it's doubly hard that we're trying to eat healthy. I'm sure all of you know how expensive fresh food is!

If any of you smart weight-losing people have some favorite recipes you'd like to share with this poor beleagured new housewife, clicky the email link and save my marriage. :) We do eat meat and just about any kind of vegetable, as well as carbs (though low-carb recipes are also very much appreciated!).

In related news, I have discovered the wonders of fresh chives. I needed them for a roast pork loin recipe, and I've been chopping the leftover chives and throwing them onto everything I can think of. So far my favorites have been fat-free cottage cheese with fresh chives, and cold pork sandwich with a tablespoon of mayo and chopped chives. I have definitely found something that will go on my weekly grocery list!

Oh, and I made my bargain with J. He will drive me to Curves every day except Wednesdays, since that's when he has class. I feel better having someone to go with, even though he's not actually in the gym with me. Stupid, but true. In return, he gets a skinnier and happier wife! Isn't that a great deal? :)

I really want to make a pot of coffee now, but I'm going to resist. I'm going to drink spring water instead. Honest.

dust dreams