Mueslix
August 02, 2004 4:20 am

We're home visiting my mom this weekend, which for me meant one thing: shopping!! I bought more exercise clothes, since I plan on working out five days a week until I get a job. I found those clearanced tees I was talking about and bought two... one is pink and says "playground bully: doesn't play well with others" and has a monkey sticking out his tongue, and the other is blue and says "Support Wildlife... throw a party!" Hee. Too cute. Even better were the exercise pants I found in my size in a light airy cotton that were NOT powder blue! Hurrah! Only found one pair though (the other colors only went to L, not XL), so we will look around a little more today.

I have to say, sizes give me a headache. I was shopping in Juniors, and the tees I bought were size 3X, or 23/25. I own a pair of jeans that are size 19 (that are also a little snug since the hubby shrank them), and the pants I bought today were a size 15. How do they come up with this stuff? (Note: I like the 15 number best.)

Also, I don't know whether to be happy or upset that Juniors clothing comes in plus sizes now. On the one hand, I would have killed to have cute, modern clothing in my size when I was growing up. Trying to be cool when you're wearing an appliqued denim shirt with polka dots isn't always successful. So I support it whole-heartedly, because I don't believe anyone should be limited in their choices of clothing by size.

On the other hand, having Juniors available in plus sizes more and more recently means that there's enough of an increase in demand to warrant the manufacture of said clothing. Of course it's still in the minority, since most of Juniors is aimed at over-developed ten year olds and anorexic teenagers and young adults, but still. It's worrying.

Anyway, one of the reasons we came down to Mom's was that it's her guy's birthday on Tuesday, so we had a family dinner out. And, I was conscripted to play chauffeur while she bought him his present... a karaoke machine! Oh god... anybody know how many calories singing karaoke burns? I'm sure it's not as much as I replaced by drinking wine to "lubricate my vocal cords" (more like lubricating my bravado), but it's fun. I even got J to sing a few songs with me, but the bugger kept turning his microphone off. Hee.

Starving to death. Dinner was about eleven hours ago and I'm HUNGRY. Hubby is sleeping. Parents are sleeping. Dogs are sleeping. Everyone is sleeping except for me and my growling tummy. All the food in the house is radioactive since my Mom's mostly moved in with her guy and my bro and his wife are moving into this house while theirs is being built come Wednesday. There is Chinese in the fridge that I think has been there since before J and I were married.

Off to find breakfast...

dust dreams