Annoyed
October 22, 2003 5:52 am

So. Curves.

I am not a happy camper. Remember how I was refraining from weighing in for a month? Well, that was all fine and dandy, until tonight. See, they've bought a Weight Watchers scale, since our old scale only went to 300 lbs and some of the women at the gym are well over 300. They originally started with both scales side by side, and I noticed when I weighed myself on them a few weeks ago that the WW scale weighed 4 lbs heavy.

(Before you say anything about accuracy: I went to my doctor's office, weighed myself, drove to Curves, and weighed myself on the old scale. It was equal; the WW is four pounds heavy. Yes, I am anal about accuracy.)

Last night when we went to work out, the old scale was gone. Two of the trainers were back there, and I asked where the old scale was.

"Oh, we got rid of it. We're only using this one, now."

Excuse me? I started my program on that damn scale, now they switch on me? I was so pissed off, you have no idea. And I said so.

"Oh come on, Anna, just step on the damn scale, and you'll see," said Lou. So I did. I figured, my weigh-day is in two days, who cares if I weigh a day or two early?

242.5

I burst into tears. Because it's now going to go on my Curves record that I lost a grand total of 1.5 lbs in the month of October, instead of the 6.0 lbs I know I've lost.

It might not sound like a lot to them, but to me there is a difference. To me it's important that I have that 6lbs marked down, and not 1.5. To me it's important to have my "official" weight as 238, and not 242. It's a matter of numbers, and it pisses me off to no end that they'd do something like this to people in the middle of their program.

I gave them this message: If you're going to buy a new scale, bully for you. But if you don't want 250 very upset women on weigh-day, you better calibrate that scale's ass to the old one FIRST. I worked too hard to see numbers I never want to see again reappear on that digital display.

I walked out. I'll go in again, Thursday, but I will not let them weigh me unless the old scale is back where it belongs or the new one is properly calibrated. No way in hell am I going to post that I lost one and a half pounds in a month when I really lost six. They can kiss my fat ass on both cheeks first.

Gah, I am so pissed off.

dust dreams