Early morning thoughts
July 29, 2003 5:33 am

Even though Curves has a scale in the back changing room, I'm still going to only weigh myself once a week like I used to do. I also put my scale out in the garage so that I wouldn't be tempted to just have a peek. ;) I'll weigh myself again this Friday, and do Fridays after that like normal.

Things I noticed today after working out: I was less crabby than before I went, I felt energized when I was finished, I felt like I had accomplished something with my morning, I felt GOOD about having made a real start towards losing weight, and I wanted to go back and do it all again.

Things that are hardest about the program I'm on: I know it's only for a couple weeks, but this low-carb diet? SUCKS. ASS. You're supposed to have less than 20g of carbs a day. That's 1/4 cup of cooked brown rice. Or twelve pieces of popcorn. Or one saltine cracker. Or half a slice of bread. Jeeeeeez.

Quoth lady: "On the upside, you can have as many proteins as you like! You can eat LOADS of meat!"

Quoth me: "Uh, I don't eat meat."

I do eat a little meat. I eat some fish (tilapia, salmon, cod, tuna), boneless skinless chicken breasts, chicken wings, turkey, and... that's it. Ham, beef, pork, lamb, bacon, sausage, shellfish, etc are a rare occurrence and I only eat very small portions. (Some exceptions: I love London Broil and corned beef.) In the usual week, I will eat maximum of 15 oz of meat-protein and get the rest from vegetable sources. So this "high-protein" diet for me is meaning a LOT more meat than I'm used to... and a LOT more beans.

And a LOT more farting. ;)

I am also going to call this week and make an appointment to see my doctor, to go over the Curves plan with her and to make sure I'm not going to kill myself doing all the things they suggest doing. She's going to be thrilled. I go to a practice with three doctors, see, and they have all had very different approaches to getting me to lose weight. Dr. D nagged me at every visit, which only resulted in pushing me the other direction (since that's my personality) and made me feel inadequate and embarassed. So I started seeing Dr. M. Dr. M's approach was to leave me the hell alone and never mention it because it wasn't really a problem- I mentioned in my last entry that I'm completely and utterly healthy except for this small problem of being 140 lbs overweight.

Then there's Dr. C, the only woman in the practice and the person I started to see when I was 18 and began my gynological visits. She brought up the subject, mentioned I needed to lose weight but that I wouldn't until I was damn good and ready to do it. "It's like quitting smoking," she told me. "You can try all the times you like, and maybe it'll work for a little while. But the only time you'll start it and stick to it and by god DO it is when you want to, and not a minute before."

This reminds me of something I wanted to add to this site. A disclaimer of sorts. I'll go write that now. :)

dust dreams