Explanation of Curves
July 27, 2003 11:32 am

So why Curves? Why not WW?

More than one reason, actually. One, my problem is not unhealthy and/or binge eating: I have a balanced diet with very little sugar and fat. My total calories per day is usually around 2000-2500, and my fat intake per day is never above 30g. My only real nutritional problems are that I don't drink enough water, and I probably have too many carbs in my diet (though, when I recently had my blood drawn and tested, my triglycerides were perfect). I don't have high blood pressure, I don't have high cholesterol, I'm not type-two diabetic, I'm not anemic.

My problem is (and this is reason number two for joining Curves) that I don't exercise enough. I do a little walking, a little tae-bo, but not enough to consistently burn calories.

Reason number three, I have a LOT of weight to lose. I'm five feet tall and I weigh 259 lbs. That puts my BMI at 51. I want to lose 140 lbs, which would put me at just about 120 lbs, though I should probably lose a little more since my ideal weight is between 102 and 118 lbs. Losing that much weight and not doing any exercise to tone and strengthen my muscles as I lose it will mean saggy skin and a flabby look- even though I might be thin. I don't want that.

So it's the gym for me. I chose Curves because it's local (now), it's small, it's created for women, run by women, and allows only women. There are no confusing machines to learn. There are no routines to interrupt- everyone is on the same rotation. There are no men to sneer, stare, or show off.

(And to that last: I am not an idiot, and I have been on this planet quite a few years. I know women can be just as catty and competetive. But I know how to deal with woman-to-woman crapola.)

The initial weighing and measuring will possibly be a little daunting. I joined with my mother (actually dragged her in and forced her to join, because she's close to 60 and I worry that she doesn't exercise as much as she should), and will be going with her to at least the initial workout. Since I'm an adult, she's mostly kept her nose out of my health business (beyond the occassional reproof), but now she will be right there in it. That may soon turn out to be a mistake, but I hope not.

All in all, I'm looking forward to the challenge. I'll be starting the low-carbohydrate diet soon to kickstart my metabolism, and that will hopefully help me drop some more pounds.

dust dreams