Memes for the week
June 30, 2003 10:54 am

WIW:
Is there someone in your life who would be dissapointed if he or she knew how much you ate or the kind of things you ate? I think this is more a question for compulsive eaters, because I can't think of anyone. I don't eat a lot at all, and I usually eat healthy. When I was a kid, yes I used to "trade" food in my lunches and buy stuff off the ala carte menu instead of the regular lunch menu, but I stopped doing that around age 13. Today I've had a tuna salad sandwich and some coffee. Not too scary at all.

Progress Prompt:
What kind of clothes do you normally wear every day? What is your favorite piece of clothing? What piece of clothing do you avoid the most? Why? Do your weight issues influence the way you shop? Are you a clotheshorse, or do you only shop when you need a clothing item? Well I'm supposed to wear a certain set of t-shirts to work, usually with jeans and sneakers. So that's what I wear during the day. When I'm not working, I wear more "girly" clothes. My favorite item of clothing at the moment is a flouncy pink renaissance-style blouse that emphasizes my boobs and covers the rolls in my tummy, which is really nice! And I definitely avoid clothes that show my legs (shorts, skirts and dresses that end above the knee, etc) because I'm built very heavy on the bottom.

My weight issues definitely influence the way I shop; for example, I can't walk into any store and find something to fit. I have to shop in stores that have plus-sized sections, or that cater entirely to plus-sized women. I can't get any "cute" clothes, because "cute" clothes in plus-sizes are always incredibly expensive. (Lane Bryant, $50 for a blouse? Kiss my size 22 ass.) I also have an incredibly hard time finding bras because my cup size is small and my band size is bigger. I would be more of a clotheshorse if buying clothes wasn't such a huge expedition... let's face it, I'm not the kind of person who is really into giant polka-dots or huge flowers in old-lady fashions, which is what most plus-sized clothing is.

dust dreams