Three... no, four notes.
October 01, 2003 4:58 am

It's October! It's October! Wheeeee!

Whew... okay, I feel better now.


Contrary to last month, when I lost four pounds in THE WHOLE FRICKING MONTH, I'm now losing like crazy. I have lost three pounds since Friday of last week, bringing me to 241 already. WHY?

Mind you, I'm not complaining. It's exciting and wonderful and I just want to dance around in a grass skirt. But why? I'm not doing anything different. I'm not drinking more water (ick), I'm not exercising more. It's weird.

But, I've noticed that I'm controlling my portions more. Last night at dinner I wasn't very hungry, so I had very small servings. Huh, go figure. Of course now my body woke me up at 4:30am, screaming "FEED ME"... but still. Learning portion control is the hardest thing to do, I think. So maybe that's it.

Whatever it is, I'm liking it. Good loss this week, if the Bloat of Doom doesn't show up!


On another note, I am really irritated with my friends. They're my best friends in the world and I love them to death; I'm even fortunate enough to work with them.

BUT... (and there's always a big 'but' somewhere)

They both want to lose some weight. I guess they both need it, one is around 210 (should be 140) and the other is around 150 (should be 130). We always used to sit and talk about losing weight (late at night when we were sitting on our butts eating cookies, hah!), and I told them about Curves. We all said that if one opened up, we would join together. So when the Curves opened, I jumped in and joined up, then waited for them to do the same.

No dice. Their reasoning was, "It costs $30 a month." We get a free membership to a local gym as part of our employment benefits, and they say they want to go to that one. I have no issues with that. But it's been two months now and while I'm getting slimmer, they're still sitting on their butts eating cookies. And they're still complaining about their weight.

I guess that's what annoys me the most, that they're not doing anything about it. We would sit and talk about it all the time, about how much we REALLY wanted to lose all the fat, about how much we REALLY wanted to be healthy. I guess I was the only one who REALLY meant it, though, because the opportunity was staring them right in the face and they didn't take it.

I wish I could say: You don't want to join Curves because it costs too much, fine. You have a FREE MEMBERSHIP elsewhere. Stop running your mouth and start running your feet. You won't get anywhere unless you take the first step.

I don't know. I guess it's going to be for them what it was for me: they have to make the decision for themselves about when and how to do it. So I'll just keep my mouth shut (since nagging will get me nowhere) and keep casually mentioning all the weight I've lost. ;) Maybe it'll work subconsciously, who knows?


On a final note, d'ya like my new layout? It's October! It's October! Wheeeee!

dust dreams