Just some thoughts
September 28, 2003 12:37 pm

I don't count calories. I never have. The only thing I do that vaguely resembles counting is to keep an eye on my fat grams. I try to stay within a range of 20-30g of fat per day, maximum.

Two reasons this works for me:
1. Items that are usually low in fat are also low in calories.
2. There is no obsessive counting and restricting myself because it would put me "over-budget", which would seriously annoy me.

I think this is probably the reason why I can never do weight watchers, and also why I hated to be on the low-carb Curves diet. Also, come to think of it, why I get so pissy when my doctor hands me a 1200-calorie eating chart. I hate being told what to do and when to do it. I hate being told that certain things are off-limits. I'm an adult, dammit, and not a two year old. If I want to have a Reese's Peanut Butter Cup, I will have one.

I realize though that this "plan" of mine requires a substantial amount of willpower and self-control, and therefore probably won't work for 80% of people trying to lose weight. The thing is, my "plan" requires you to WANT to lose weight. It requires you to want it more than you want that third bowl of cereal, more than you want that last cookie. That's where my willpower comes from - I want to be thin more than I want to feed junk to my body.

I have a feeling I've written about this before. :)

Anyway. I could probably lose a lot more weight every week if I paid more attention to restricting my calories, but I'd be a hell of a lot less happy.

dust dreams